crafts, family

Family Sleepover

I had the incredible idea of inviting a few family members over for a sleepover. This included; my two nieces, my nephew, my sister, my cousin and her three kids, and let’s not forget myself, my husband, and my toddler. Yup, that’s right, there were 11 of us. And to add to the fun, my toddler woke up with a fever that morning! I thought it was going to be so stressful, and I would have to exercise an immense amount of patience after this weekend of family time. But, I think everything turned out to be great! I wasn’t as exhausted by the end as I thought I would be. And the kids were pretty well behaved.

So here’s how the day went:

Everyone showed up at their leisure. The children started to play right away. I think the next time I do this, I will have an activity planned for them to do. That actually was my initial plan, but I just didn’t follow through.

Then, at some point, we began to get the food ready. We made pigs in a blanket. Which is basically cocktail franks wrapped in crescent roll dough. We also made or heated up some tater tots and French fries. I guess I should also point out that this process went very slowly since I started a bit late and wasn’t as organized as I would have liked. But, I’m finding that’s my new normal after having a kid. I’m hoping things get a little better over time.

Once things began to cook, I finally got all the ingredients out for our mini pizzas. Again, we used grands biscuit dough as our crust. I would prefer a more natural option, but that’s way more time consuming and my guests could care less. Also, it can get pretty pricey. Anyway, we had tomato sauce, cheese, pepperoni, bacon, BBQ chicken, and jerk chicken to add on the pizzas. All of the kids were able to make their own. Of course, they all needed help stretching out their dough. Maybe I should have showed them first, a lot of them ended up with holes in their crust. And, you have to watch them adding toppings, my nephew added way to much cheese on his, lol. But, overall, I think they had fun.

So, after the mini pies baked, the kids were able to jump right in. I think I should have picked better tomato sauce, though because they didn’t really finish them. Although, they did fill up on all that other stuff before hand. And not to mention, I think they were pretty excited to just play with each other.

IMG_4558   IMG_4559

IMG_4560 IMG_4561 IMG_4562 IMG_4563 IMG_4564 IMG_4565 IMG_4566

During the evening, all of the kids played, and we ended up playing Go Fish. Some of us had also played Guess Who earlier. That was fun! My sister had bought some charcoal “crayons” for the kids to do an art project (don’t ask me why, their hands were soo messy). Of course, the kids seemed to really enjoy this part. They all made butterflies and we hung them on the wall in the play room.

At some point I gave the kids the option of when they wanted to go to bed. They all decided on midnight. Yet, the younger ones were actually tired by 11:30. I found that to be amazing and I was extremely relieved. I had feared that no one would want to go to sleep and that we would all be exhausted. I’m so glad I was wrong.

In the morning, I convinced my husband to make us waffles. We spent the morning playing, getting dressed, and watching tv. We even managed to get in another craft project. The kids attempted to make toilet paper people. Of course, those didn’t come out that well. I blame myself for not being properly prepared and let them go wild with the glue. It’s all a learning curve, right!

IMG_4573

Leave a Reply

