learning, New Year, thoughts

Reflecting on 2013

At first glance, I thought that 2013 just flew by and I had accomplished nothing. But, as I began to actually think about what 2013 meant to me and all the things I did manage to do, this past year began to look promising. Life in 2013 was sweet and full of some interesting highs and lows.

In 2013, I had the opportunity to celebrate my child’s first birthday. This day actually meant a lot more to me than I realized. I mean I had wanted to be a mother for a few years before we actually conceived. And after our short roller coaster ride from the time we started planning to the day our son was born, I think I kind of lost momentum on how exciting being a parent was going to be. Then came the first year. Boy, did that throw me for even more of a loop. Talk about the highs and lows. I think there were a lot of lows, but I’m glad that I can focus more on the highs. I love being a mom, I just wish my scale was a bit more balanced instead of my days being completely focused on that. That’s something I can try to balance out in 2014.

2013 was also a year of shared memories with new friends and exciting experiences. I became even more involved in a community of moms and grew to value our time and blossoming friendships. Unfortunately for me, some of those friendships have since faded a bit, but who knows what 2014 will have in store for us.

I think my marriage deserved a bit more attention in 2013. But, I’m confident that we’re strong enough to weather through times like this. Please don’t read into this any more than it needs to be. My marriage is fine, but looking back, I wish my husband and I would have taken more time for ourselves. I think we just got used to the new normal that is our life and we don’t really remember to take time for each other. In 2014, I hope to have more “dates” or mommy and daddy time. Actually, I just prefer we have time to not be mommy or daddy. I think we deserve it.

Even though I don’t acknowledge it enough, I think I learned a little bit about myself this past year. I’ve always known I was strong, but I think I came to the conclusion that I don’t always want to be strong, or that it’s okay to let your guard down every once in awhile. I think people misread strong people as lacking emotion or that they don’t have feelings sometimes. I do have feelings and should be allowed to express them. I seldom cry in front of others, so maybe in 2014 I can try to let that side show a little more. Don’t expect me to start bawling my eyes out all of a sudden though.

So, I wish I had one word to describe 2013, but I guess that’s not always possibly. I think 2013 was full of great learning experiences. I hope that 2014 is the same. What do you have to reflect on in 2013? And what do you hope for in 2014?

Leave a Reply

