food, recipe

Sweet Potato Bread

I tried some delicious Pumpkin bread at a friend’s home a month or so ago and could not stop thinking about it. So, we decided to have a playdate and make bread. I also make a pretty good banana bread and she had a ton of sweet potatoes. The whole idea was for us to share recipes and make a ton of bread with our little ones. We ended up making a sweet potato bread and my banana bread. The kids got a bit tired from all the mess they made. 😉

IMG_2208

I don’t have the actual recipe that we used for the sweet potato bread. But, I did sort of create my own. I have made it a few times since and all I really do is replace the bananas from my banana bread recipe. I also used the pumpkin I had and it made delicious pumpkin bread. I usually pair different spices with each vegetable/fruit as well.

IMG_2212

 

 

IMG_2234

Sweet Potato Bread

1 1/2 cup Unbleached Flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 cup Butter

1/2 cup Natural Cane Sugar

1/2 cup Brown Sugar

2 Eggs

1 cup Sweet Potatoes, mashed

1 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Nutmeg

1/4 tsp Ground Ginger

1/4 tsp Allspice

Preheat oven to 350 (degrees)

Directions:

1. Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and spices. Set aside.

2. Cream together both sugars and butter.

3. Add eggs, one at a time.

4. Add vanilla.

5. Add mashed sweet potatoes.

6. Slowly add flour mixture. Mix well, but try to not over mix the batter.

7. Add batter to greased loaf pan. Bake for 45min – 1hr.

 

I’ve also made mini loaves.

IMG_2220

IMG_2214

 

IMG_2215

Sometimes I like to toast slices of banana bread and add chocolate chips. It’s a great afternoon snack!

 

1 thought on “Sweet Potato Bread”

Leave a Reply

