crafts, Mommyhood

Mommy to Mommy Answers

Okay, I finally had some time to actually answer these questions. I think this might help get the ball rolling for others to answer them. Keep in mind, these are advice for first time moms. I had to put myself back in the mindset I was in when I was pregnant. I swore it was possible to be prepared for motherhood. Boy, was I misinformed. . .

1. THE BEST THING I DID AS A NEW MOM WAS. . .
Nothing. As a new mom, I did a whole lot of nothing. I actually spent a lot of time on the couch watching tv while nursing and sleeping when the baby slept.

2. ONE WORD TO DESCRIBE BEING A NEW MOM
Overwhelming

3. BEFORE MY BABY WAS BORN, I WISH I HAD. . .
Been wise enough to stock my fridge with healthy foods and snacks.

4. WHEN MY BABY WAS BORN, I FELT. . .
Relieved

5. ONCE ME AND BABY CAME HOME, I FELT. . .
Stressed. I was engorged with milk and he was gassy and cranky from a fore milk imbalance, so he didn’t nurse for awhile.

6. WHAT WERE SOME OF YOUR FEARS?
Not being able to breastfeed. Failing.

7. THINGS I DID TO PREPARE FOR MY BABY THAT WERE HELPFUL . . .
Taking a Breastfeeding class truly helped me prepare for all of the issues I encountered. I knew how to trouble shoot most things and how to utilize the resources I had when I didn’t have the answers.

8. BEFORE I BROUGHT MY BABY HOME, I WISH I HAD
Known more about Babywearing for the start

9. WHEN GUEST VISITED, I FOUND IT HELPFUL WHEN THEY. . .
I wish my guests came bearing food. That would have been helpful. Otherwise, just keeping me company was appreciated.

10. I WISH SOMEONE HAD TOLD ME. . .
That I didn’t need half of the crap I thought I did

11. NEVER BE AFRAID TO. . .
Ask for help. People around you are willing to give you a helping hand. Speak up and be clear about what you need.

12. HAVING A BABY IS . . .
Life changing in so many ways.

13. MOTHERHOOD IS. . .
The greatest and yet undervalued job.

14. WHAT I LEARNED AS A MOM
Is that the amount of children you have doesn’t classify you as an expert or all knowing. We all parent or mother differently and one choice isn’t better or more right than the other.

15. HELPFUL TIPS
Breastfeeding is natural, but just like pregnancy, we all aren’t created equal. Some women may experience pain or complications. But, if you can get through those first 6 weeks, things will get better.

Having a support system is crucial. Ie, spouse/significant other, mom, sister, friend, mother in law.

All of the things that you obsess over before the baby comes, are not the things you focus one once the baby gets here, so try to enjoy those baby free moments as much as you can. You will never be a “Mommy to be” again. It’s virtually impossible to be fully prepared for parenthood anyway.

16. MUST HAVES
A carrier for Babywearing, I would go with a ring sling
A Breastfeeding class
A postpartum doula or someone who will take care of you for the first few weeks

Leave a Reply

