thoughts

Are You Overparenting?

My sister just shared this article with me; 7 Signs You’re Overparenting. I swear that I live by these rules, and it’s nice to see them all in one place.

I want my child to feel supported in his decisions. But, I don’t want to coddle him. I’m all about giving him praise when he needs it or has accomplished something grand. But, I don’t think every accomplishment warrants praise.

I want my child to clean his room, help with chores, and overall pick up after himself. But, I don’t want to force him to do things my way or on my schedule. And I definitely won’t be cleaning up after him when he’s capable of cleaning up after himself.

I want my child to understand that there are consequences to his actions. And that means showing him consequences to his actions. Of course, that could also mean letting him fall or hurt himself to realize that what he’s doing is harmful. But, I find that to be a gray area. I won’t be letting my kid run in the street, allowing him to get hit by a car just so he will hold my hand when we cross the street. However, I don’t always hover over him when I think he may fall when he jumps on our sofa.

I believe different people parent in different manners, so for me hovering or “Overparenting” seems like a lot of work for the opposite result. Plus, stress causes gay hair and I’m fine with not having any at the moment!

Leave a Reply

