definition, learning, thoughts, Word of the Day

Perspective

1. a way of regarding situations, facts, etc, and judging their relative importance
2. the proper or accurate point of view or the ability to see it; objectivity: try to get some perspective on your troubles.

I try my hardest to be open to different perspectives on most topics, especially ones where I don’t know many details and have formed an opinion based on my observation of a particular incident.

I love that the definition also covers the three dimensional drawing technique that I spent plenty of hours working on in my drafting classes back in college. I have no idea why I have this strange connection to this word, lol!

Anyway, I’m pretty attached to this word and those two meanings described above. I find that more people should take a step back to try and gain a new perspective on a situation. Just because things seem pretty clear from your angle, doesn’t mean the other person sees what you do from theirs. And giving them that chance to explain their perspective can open your mind in so many ways to infinite possibilities.

Are you someone who explores different perspectives or are at least open to entertaining the concept! I find that there are people who refuse to alter their views or see things from another person’s point of view. I find that type of closed mindedness to be unfortunate.

Leave a Reply

