food, recipe

Mixing it up with Banana Bread

I can’t believe I forgot how much I enjoy banana bread! In realizing that my child loves all things in the form of baked goods, I have decided to go back to a classic, banana bread. I had a real addiction to this last year.

Anyway, I know I posted the recipe for my Sweet Potato Bread and mentioned that the recipes were very similar, but I couldn’t resist sharing the pics I took from this most recent batch of banana bread. I made mini loaves and my new fun tip is that by making them this way, I was able to play with different add ins to come up with different types without all of the fuss of making separate batters. I threw chia seeds into one loaf and mini chocolate chips in another.

20140123-004157.jpg

Banana Bread

1 1/2 cup Flour
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
Dash of Cinnamon and Nutmeg ( I only used cinnamon this time)
1/2 cup Sugar
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1/2 cup Butter
2 Eggs (I actually used 1 egg this time around)
3 Bananas (best when starting to brown)
1 tsp Vanilla

1. Whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and spices. Set aside
2. Cream butter and sugars.
3. Add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla.
4. Mash bananas in separate bowl, then add to batter.
5. Add flour mixture.
6. Bake at 350 for 1 hour. Makes 1 loaf. (Bake mini loaves for 30 minutes)

20140123-004749.jpg

20140123-004758.jpg

20140123-004806.jpg
If you are making mini loaves and wish to play with different add ins, I think I added 1-2 tablespoons of chia seeds and mini chocolate chips per loaf. I probably added too much chocolate chips and not enough chia seeds, but those measurements are still true.

20140123-005042.jpg

20140123-005053.jpg

20140123-005107.jpg

Leave a Reply

