definition, thoughts, Word of the Day

Intent

I had plans to write my own post about intent or intentions in relation to actions. But, then I came across this post on The Good Men Project‘s website. I think this author has a way better handle on words and really expresses what I have struggled to put into words myself.

The first definition of intent, leads you to the word intention or intended; 1. something that is intended; purpose; design; intention: The original intent of the committee was to raise funds. So, in following through and finding the definition of intended or intention, you come across the definition: purpose or attitude toward the effect of one’s actions or conduct: a bungler with good intentions.

For me, one’s intent or purpose in a situation poses more weight on my reaction than their actions. But, when this author brings up impact, it puts things into a whole new perspective for me. I definitely judge people on how their actions impact myself or others. I think that’s probably why I have a hard time with forgiving others. I usually say that I have no interest in forgiving those who aren’t sorry and that is based on the fact that I don’t believe people have appropriate apologizing etiquette. (If that’s even a thing.) But, in my opinion, people today don’t take ownership for their actions. Mostly, I think because they don’t want to have to deal with the consequences.

Anyway, I’m wondering what your interpretation of the article from The Good Men Project is? And how do you deal with intent vs impact or intent vs action?

Leave a Reply

