food, Homemade

Homemade Ketchup and Barbecue Sauce

The other day I decided I really wanted some barbecue chicken, but we were out of barbecue sauce. Of course, the base ingredient to the recipe I had was ketchup and we were all out of that as well. So, since I had been meaning to make that too, I got the chance to make two delicious condiments!

IMG_5842
Homemade Ketchup
[see recipe]
Tomato Paste
Brown Sugar
Ground Mustard
Salt
Cinnamon
Ground Cloves
Allspice
Cayenne Pepper
Water
White Wine Vinegar

IMG_5845
Homemade Barbecue Sauce
[see recipe]
Brown Sugar (I didn’t use as much as suggested since there’s some in the ketchup)
Ketchup (see recipe above)
Molasses (I used honey instead)
Apple Cider Vinegar
Worcestershire Sauce
Ground Mustard
Paprika
Chili Powder
Salt
Black Pepper
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder (I didn’t have any)
Red Pepper Flakes (I didn’t use these)

IMG_5847

IMG_5846

Feedback: I really like the ketchup, although I do plan to make a few adjustments the next time around. The barbecue sauce seemed like it was missing something. I foresee variations in my future.

Leave a Reply

