Mommyhood, Uncategorized

SAHM

Let’s talk about being a stay at home mom for a minute. I’m really irritated by society’s portrayal of what that means. Once in a while I get a vibe from someone that they seem to undermine what it is that I do all day. And whether or not I’m capable of being a part of adult conversation.

Anyway, let’s really break things down. I find it very interesting that we tip toe around the idea that raising our own children isn’t work. Trust me, I WORK ALL DAY! But, of course, it’s all a labor of love, but that’s beside the point. What I like to point out is that if I were to do the same thing for someone else’s child(ren) all day, no one would bat an eye at me expressing that I work all day.

Let me tell you about being a stay at home mom (for me). I spend my day with 2 infants and a toddler. Bathroom breaks are scarce and lunch time is a joke. Yes, I spend a lot of time on Facebook and sitting on the couch, but that always comes with a baby (or two) latched on to my breasts and/or (but mostly and) a toddler climbing on me. On a productive day, I am up and down and all over trying my hardest to entertain any little human whose eyes are open. There’s really only so much you can do to keep them entertained without going a tad bit insane. On an off day, (and I have a lot of off days) I struggle through exhaustion and barely get enough of a break to feed myself. I mean, sure I can take as much time as I can to myself since I don’t actually work for anyone. However, that usually results in a house full of screaming babies. And let’s face it, I can barely finish writing this post, much less a thought.

I came across this meme the other day, and it really rubbed me the wrong way. Parenting is a life long project for all involved. No one has it easier than anyone else. However, I’m trying to wrap my head around the idea of spending all day taking care of someone else’s child, then come home to your own. I don’t know where people find the strength. And let’s not forget single moms! I spend my whole counting down to when my husband comes home. I don’t think I would ever eat, shower, have a bathroom break if it weren’t for that moment.

IMG_1087

I don’t understand why we can’t just give each other a break? Yes, I spend a lot of time In my pajamas or doing virtually nothing all day. But, I consider sitting in a car during traffic with no (screaming) kids in the car, a mini vacation.

IMG_1088

http://www.mommyish.com/2014/04/14/funny-e-cards-for-moms/

Okay, my minute is up. I don’t feel like ranting much more. Maybe I will revisit this thought another day. . .

Leave a Reply

