food, Homemade, recipe, Toddler Friendly Meals

Carrot Apple Muffins


I made these muffins a few years ago, but every time I’ve made them since, I realize that I never saved or created a recipe. So, of course, they most likely come out different every time. But, we still always enjoy them.

I believe I came across a recipe using this combination of carrots and apples on Pinterest. I’m almost certain it also included oats. I can’t say why I didn’t pin it nor have a come across the recipe that jogs my memory. So, this time around, I just used my Sweet Potato Bread recipe and adjusted it a tad. Try these out and let me know what you think.


Carrot Apple Muffins

1.5c Flour

.5c Oats, grounded coarsely

1tsp Baking Powder

.5tsp Baking Soda

.5tsp Salt

2dashes of Cinnamon

.5c Brown Sugar

.25c Natural Sugar

.5c Butter

2 Eggs

2 Apples

2 Carrots

Directions:

1. Whisk together dry ingredients; flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

2. In a separate bowl, blend butter and sugars together, well.

3. Add eggs one at a time.

4. Grate apples using the fine setting. Dump the contents and the juices into the batter.

5. Grate carrots using the fine setting. Dump the contents into the batter.

6. Blend all ingredients well.

7. Add in flour mixture, slowly. Mix everything until completely combined.

8. Scoop into muffin tins. Bake @350 for 15-20 minutes.

9. Yields about 18-20 muffins

Notes:

I do not peel the apples, I basically grate until I reach the core.

When I made this recipe recently, I actually used .5 cups of Natural Sugar the first time around. I figured less sugar would be better due to the amount of apples.

I used medium sized apples and carrots. If you need actual measurement, I say  between 1 and 1.5 cups should do. You’ll probably end up not using the whole 2 apples or carrots. I prefer to use them all to eliminate waste. This does result in a very moist muffin.

I also used vanilla in my first batch, but opted to leave it out of the second. I don’t find it to be needed for this flavor combination.



ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

