definition, family, learning, Natural Journey, thoughts

Trite

I think I want to revisit highlighting certain words and their definitions. I was planning on doing something like this with social justice terms for my group, but I think I managed to turn that into a huge project that has become a bit overwhelming. 

Anyway, let’s talk about trite. I just came across this word while reading the dos and don’ts about something. Based on the context in which it was used, I wondered if I truly knew what it meant. Or did I have a completely different understanding of the word. Here’s a screenshot of the initial google search. 


Trite    adjective

(of a remark, opinion, or idea) overused and consequently of little import; lacking originality or freshness.

“this point may now seem obvious and trite”
synonyms: banal, hackneyed, clichéd, platitudinous, vapid, commonplace, stock, conventional, stereotyped, overused, overdone, overworked, stale, worn out, timeworn, tired, hoary, hack, unimaginative, unoriginal, uninteresting, dull, uninvolving; informalold hat, corny, cornball, cheesy, boilerplate

“critics were put off by the trite dialogue”
Do you use trite in your everyday vocabulary? I hope this doesn’t seem trite, but feel free to comment with a sentence using the word, trite. 

Leave a Reply

