food, Homemade, Mommyhood, recipe, Toddler Friendly Meals

Carrot Apple Muffins

We made some muffins this week, and I realized I don’t have this recipe on the blog. I came across it one day and was surprised of where I had entered it. I have been looking for this for awhile. I think I just made it up as I went along, the last time I made it. 

*Edit: I actually forget that I posted a recipe. See how long I have been looking for notes on this, lol. 

I made 2 slight adjustments this time around and I really enjoyed them. 

Recipe Ingredients

2c Flour1c Grounded Oats
1tsp Baking Powder

1tsp Baking Soda

1/2tsp Salt

1tsp Cinnamon

Dash of Nutmeg and Ginger

1c Natural Sugar* (1/2c)

1c Brown Sugar

1c Butter

1tsp Vanilla Extract

4 Eggs

2c Grated Carrots*, about 3 med (2)

2c Grated Apples*, about 3 med(2, 1diced)

*I decided to cut down the sugar a little this time around. I also eyeballed the carrots and apples. I didn’t want to risk making the batter too wet. Instead of grating both apples, I actually diced one up. I liked the apple chunks. 


Directions

1. Mix dry ingredients together; flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger in medium bowl. Whisk well.

2. In a large bowl, add natural sugar, brown sugar and butter. Blend well.

3. Add in eggs, then vanilla. Make sure everything is blended well.

4. Grate carrots, then apples. Add to mixture.

5. Add flour mixture.

6. Scoop into muffin tins.

7. Bake 350 degrees for 15-20 min.


Had my kids in the kitchen attempting to help. 


Although they tend to make more of a mess than I’m comfortable with, I am learning to get over my fears or concerns. 


This recipe made 24 Muffins


Although I thought I may have overlooked, they actually came out perfect!

1 thought on “Carrot Apple Muffins”

Leave a Reply

