30-day Drawing Challenge, Design Inspirations, learning, Mommyhood

My 30-day Drawing Challenge – First 10 days

I’m really getting in to these drawing challenges. So, I thought I would share my journey. 

I am currently in the (long) process of trying to create a cookbook to simplify some of the baked goods I love to bake and share. This has been years in the making at this point. The goal is that I believe most people are capable of baking, but I always come across people who are either scared or skeptical of their ability to bake. So, I figured I would put together something to help them get over those fears or challenge their skepticism. I also want something that is kid friendly and easy to follow. 

The challenge has been that I would like to use drawings versus photos in the cookbook. And finding an artist to collaborate with has been challenging. As well as hard to coordinate in general. 

So, I came across this 30-day drawing challenge YouTube video and decided to work on my drawing skills. I mean I do have a fine arts degree with a technical background in drafting from my Interior Design major. Therefore these skills are stored in my brain somewhere waiting to be tapped into. 

So far these challenges have helped to build my confidence and remind of things I used to know. I feel it unlocking exactly what I need to move this project forward. Fingers crossed on being able to create a finished product before the end of 2018. 

Day One: The Sphere


Day Two: Overlapping Spheres


Day Three: Advanced Level Sphere

Day Four: The Cube


Did some doodling homework. It was supposed to be 19 boxes. I made it to 10. 


Day Five: Hollow Cubes


Day Six: Stacking Tables

I got inspired by this lesson and decided to doodle my wedding cake the way I envisioned it back then, but felt the baker fell short. 


Day Seven: Stacking Boxes


(Looks like I jumped the gun on this lesson with my minincake sketch. The homework here was to work on timing. I definitely need to revisit this lesson.)

This was a little practice session. I liked stacking the blocks. 


Day Eight: Teddy Bear (yes, that’s a unicorn horn)


Day Nine: The Poppy (The Rose in the actual book)

(Must google poppies and work more on this lesson.)

Day Ten: The Cylinder


So, since the goal is to be able to drawing basic baking ingredients, I decided to see where my skills and confidence were after 10 lessons. 

(The table, spoon, glass bowl shading are reflective of lessons I have had during my college days. I definitely need more practice and a refresher, but I’m glad that some of the knowledge did attempt to come back to me.)

This was the test I did after day five’s lesson. 

Lettering will be the next challenge I tackle.  

Leave a comment